Today's date: Monday April 23, 2018
column width padding column width padding
The Wellington Advertiser Masthead Logo

We Cover The County...
40,251 Audited Circulation

WEEKLY POLL   |   Community News   |   EQUINE   |   Schools & Buses

Facebook Slug
WA 50th Banner
column width padding column width padding

Floradale downs Drayton to win NDCHL Nichol Trophy

Nichol Trophy winners - Floradale won the Nichol Trophy as the NDCHL ‘A’ Division champions, defeating Drayton three games to one in the final series.  Submitted photo

Floradale downs Drayton to win NDCHL Nichol Trophy


Drayton was in a must-win situation and started things off early. Mark Scholten and Read Shantz cycled the puck around the net to slip a pass to Joe Heenan. Heenan blasted a low shot to send the puck inside the short-side corner.

Drayton added their second goal shortly after. Scott Nieuwland started the play at the blue line. Heenan blasted a shot on net and Herman Mulder tipped the puck under the pads of the goaltender.

Floradale edged into the game midway through the period. Josh Brohman fought along the left boards and came away with the puck. Brohman crossed the blueline, split the defence and sent the puck through the five hole for the goal.

Drayton responded to rebuild the two goal spread. A low shot from the right face-off circle beat the glove of the net minder.

A 20-second lapse midway through the second period gave Floradale a quick pair of goals.

Corey Wideman threaded a shot into the short side corner and Javon Martin tied the game with a shot over the blocker, assisted by Clinton Dechert and Ryan Weber.

Floradale took the lead late in the period with a power play. Brohman set up the play and Ryan Weber sent the puck into the net with a wrist shot.

Floradale added the insurance goal midway through the third period. A leading pass by Tim Martin and the speed of Greg Martin produced a breakaway rush. Martin flew in on net and snapped the puck into the webbing with a rising wrist shot.

The win clinched the ‘A’ Division Championship, giving Floradale the Nichol Trophy, beating Drayton in the best-of-five series 3-1.

The series victory wraps up the NDCHL 2016-17 season, which also saw Bethel win the ‘B’ Division Stelco Trophy finals over Listowel.

Submitted by Willard Metzger


March 17, 2017


Tell Us What You Think

Login to submit a comment

Comments appearing on this website are the opinion of the comment writer and do not represent the opinion of the Wellington Advertiser. Comments that attack other individuals or are offensive, unsubstantiated or otherwise inappropriate will be removed. You must register or log in in order to post a comment. For more information, read our detailed Comment Policy and Guidelines.




Community Guide Spring 2018

Related Stories

There are no keyword or place terms to match other articles

column width padding column width padding column width padding

The Wellington Advertiser





Digital Publications


Twitter Logo

Free Press News Network Logo